Uganda is located at an average altitude of 1,100 metres (3,250 ft) above sea level on the East African plateau, which gently slopes towards the plains of Sudan in the north. A landlocked country, Uganda is situated almost completely in the Nile basin although south Uganda is rather dry.

The large lakes of Uganda are Lake Albert, Lake Edward, Lake Victoria, Lake Kyogo, which occupies most of central Uganda, and the relatively small Lake George. The Victoria Nile flows from Lake Victoria to Lake Kyogo, and onwards to Lake Albert located on Uganda’s border with Congo. It finally flows north into Sudan. The Turkwel River, which is a part of Lake Turkana’s drainage basin, flows over a small part of eastern Uganda.

Northern, Eastern, Western and Central Uganda are the four administrative regions of the country and they are divided into a total of 80 districts, each of which is then divided into counties. Almost all the districts are named after the administrative and commercial town of the district. Sub-districts, counties, sub-counties, parishes and village are the administrative units into which each district is divided.