Uganda Presidents

H. E. Yoweri K. Museveni

He came to power after a successful five year guerrilla struggle. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has now been President of Uganda for 26 years. He has stood for democratic elections four times and won and he is still going strong.

President Tito Okello Lutwa (General)

Born in Nam Okora, Kitgum district in 1914, the year in which the First World War began, Tito Okello was destined to be a soldier right from the word go. In 1940, aged 26 years, he joined the Kings African Rifles (KAR), the regional colonial army at the time. This was around the same time that Idi Amin too joined the force. As the case was, he was moved to Kenya and battled the Mau Mau uprising-a Kenyan movement that was fighting for independence.

President Godfrey Lukongwa Binaisa

Godfrey Lukongwa Binaisa was the fourth President of Uganda. In many circles, he has been called the accidental President given the way he ascended to power. Godfrey Binaisa was born in 1920 to Canon Ananias Binaisa. His father was a well known preacher. He went to King’s College, Buddo one of the leading schools at the time in the country.