Uganda has seen diverse changes in its political system since the signing of the 1900 Buganda agreement. In 1962 Uganda saw itself into independence, hence appointing the very first president of Uganda (Sir Kabaka Muteesa II). Through out the years it has experienced immerse political diversion from the politically diver stated Uganda to a peaceful Uganda today

Uganda Government

The present government in Uganda is that of the Multi Party System. The ruling party is the National Resistance Movement led by Yoweri Kaguta Museveni as the executive President.
He has ruled Uganda from 1986 and he was first elected by universal adult suffrage in 1996.

The Executive:
This is headed by the president.
The president is deputised by the vice president. Below the vice president is the Prime Minister. Cabinet ministers follow the Prime Minister in hierarchy. Cabinet ministers are deputised by state ministers.

The Parliament:
This is the legislative arm of the government. First elements of a legislative organ can be traced as far back as the turn of the century, when in 1888 the then Imperial British East African Company started some kind of administration in Uganda.

It consists of 280 members most of whom were elected through the ballot box except a few special interest groups like the army, women, youth and the disabled whose representatives were elected by Electoral Colleges. The present Parliament (the sixth) is largely independent of the executive and has been very active. When fully constituted it consists of the following:

– Constituency Representatives
– District Women Representatives
– 10 Uganda People’s Defence forces Representatives
– 5 Representatives of the Youth
– 5 Representatives of persons with Disabilities
– 3 Representatives of Workers

It has passed several laws and amendments and censured some cabinet ministers for corruption and abuse of office.

The Judiciary:
This is formed by the various courts of judicature, which are independent of the other arms of government.
They comprise the magisterial courts, High Court, Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court. As and when the need arises the Constitutional Court can be constituted.

Learn more about Uganda

  • Past Presidents
  • The NRM Bush War
  • The NRM
  • President Museveni
  • The Parliament
  • The Constitution
  • Political Parties

President Yoweri Museveni
Yoweri Kaguta Museveni became President of the Republic of Uganda on January 29, 1986 after leading a successful five-year liberation struggle. (More…)

Constitution of Uganda
The Parliament of Uganda derives its mandate and functions from the 1995 Constitution, the Laws of Uganda and its own Rules of Procedure.