Uganda is divided into four administrative regions: Northern Eastern, Central, and Western. These regions are further divided into 121 districts and one city -the capital city Kampala.

Most districts are named after their main commercial and administrative towns.

Since 2005, the Ugandan government has been in the process of dividing districts into smaller units. This decentralization is intended to prevent resources from being distributed primarily to chief towns and leaving the remainder of each district neglected.

Each district is further divided into counties and municipalities, and each county is further divided into sub-counties. The head elected official in a district is the chairperson of the Local Council five usually written with a Roman numeral V.

List of Districts in Uganda

1 Northern Region Abim
2 Northern Region Adjumani
3 Northern Region Amolatar
4 Eastern Region Amuria
5 Northern Region Apac
6 Northern Region Arua
7 Eastern Region Budaka
8 Eastern Region Bugiri
9 Eastern Region Bukwa
10 Western Region Buliisa
11 Western Region Bundibugo
12 Western Region Bushenyi
13 Eastern Region Busia
14 Eastern Region Namutumba
15 Eastern Region Butaleja
16 Northern Region Dokolo
17 Northern Region Gulu
18 Western Region Hoima
19 Western Region Ibanda
20 Eastern Region Iganga
21 Eastern Region Jinja
22 Northern Region Kaabong
23 Western Region Kabale
24 Western Region Kabarole
25 Eastern Region Kaberamaido
26 Western Region Isingiro
27 Central Region Kalangala
28 Eastern Region Kaliro
29 Central Region Kampala
30 Eastern Region Kamuli
31 Western Region Kamwenge
32 Western Region Kanungu
33 Eastern Region Kapchorwa
34 Western Region Kasese
35 Eastern Region Katakwi
36 Central Region Kayunga
37 Western Region Kibale
38 Central Region Kiboga
39 Northern Region Amuru
40 Western Region Kiruhura
41 Western Region Kisoro
42 Northern Region Kitgum
43 Northern Region Koboko
44 Northern Region Kotido
45 Eastern Region Kumi
46 Western Region Kyenjojo
47 Northern Region Lira
48 Central Region Luwero
49 Eastern Region Bududa
50 Northern Region Maracha
51 Central Region Masaka
52 Western Region Masindi
53 Eastern Region Mayuge
54 Eastern Region Mbale
55 Western Region Mbarara
56 Central Region Mityana
57 Northern Region Moroto
58 Northern Region Moyo
59 Central Region Mpigi
60 Central Region Mubende
61 Central Region Mukono
62 Northern Region Nakapiripirit
63 Central Region Nakaseke
64 Central Region Nakasongola
65 Northern Region Nebbi
66 Western Region Ntungamo
67 Northern Region Oyam
68 Northern Region Pader
69 Eastern Region Pallisa
70 Central Region Rakai
71 Western Region Rukungiri
72 Central Region Sembabule
73 Eastern Region Sironko
74 Eastern Region Soroti
75 Eastern Region Tororo
76 Central Region Wakiso
77 Northern Region Yumbe
78 Northern Region Agago]
79 Northern Region Alebtong
80 Northern Region Amudat
81 Western Region Buhweju
82 Central Region Buikwe
83 Eastern Region Bukedea
84 Central Region Bukomansimbi
85 Eastern Region Bulambuli
86 Central Region Butambala
87 Central Region Buvuma
88 Eastern Region Buyende
89 Central Region Gomba
90 Central Region Kalungu
91 Eastern Region Kibuku
92 Western Region Kiryandongo
93 Northern Region Kole
94 Eastern Region Kween
95 Central Region Kyankwanzi
96 Western Region Kyegegwa
97 Northern Region Lamwo
98 Eastern Region Luuka
99 Central Region Lwengo
100 Central Region Lyantonde
101 Eastern Region Manafwa
102 Western Region Mitooma
103 Eastern Region Namayingo
104 Northern Region Napak
105 Eastern Region Ngora
106 Western Region Ntoroko
107 Northern Region Nwoya
108 Northern Region Otuke
109 Western Region Rubirizi
110 Eastern Region Serere
111 Western Region Sheema
112 Northern Zombo


New Districts in Uganda

In September 2015, the Ugandan Parliament created 23 new districts, to be phased in over the next four years:

1 July 2016 Kagadi Kibale
Kakumiro Kibale
Omoro Gulu
Rubanda Kabale
1 July 2017 Namisindwa Manafwa
Pakwach Nebbi
Butebo Pallisa
Rukiga Kabale
Kyotera Rakai
Bunyangabu Kabarole
1 July 2018 Nabilatuk Nakapiripirit
Bugweri Iganga
Kasanda Mubende
Kwania Apac
Kapelebyong Amuria
Kibuube Hoima
1 July 2019 Obongi Moyo
Kazo Kiruhura
Rwampara Mbarara
Kitagwenda Kamwenge
Madi-Okollo Arua
Karenga Kaabong
Lusot Moroto